The Endorsement: Crystal Stilts

Full disclosure.  I don’t actually know what qualifies as ‘post-punk.’  There I said it.  So sue me, I’m sure I’m not the only hipster out there who doesn’t know either.  Sure, I have a vague idea of the overarching umbrella of a mystery wrapped in an enigma wrapped in a riddle that is post-punk, but I don’t know that I could name any bands that fully capture it’s sound (whatever that is).  Joy Division?  Orange Juice?  The Cure?  Bloc Party (first album of course)?  I have no idea.

HOWEVER, if I had to take a stab at a definition I would venture that it has something to do with spiky guitars, mumbly singing, pasty skin, eyeliner, and your friends walking out of the room as soon as you put it on (seriously, this genre is not made for get togethers).  You take all those elements, combine them with catchiness and some actual ass-shakingness and what do you get?  Crystal Stilts.

Check out the mp3 below or on our Muxtape and please let me know if this actually qualifies as the nebulous genre that is post-punk.

MP3: Crystal Stilts – Crystal Stilts

Download their EP at eMusic

Leave a comment

Filed under MP3, Music, Rock, WTF?

Leave a Reply

